top of page
Search
Writer's pictureravitrenip

A little Human Side-Effect

Helllooooo Humansss!!!


WOW - It's been a while!


How have ya'll been doing? What have ya'll been up to?


For people who are new or do not know, I've basically been on a break since I had GCSE exams, and it feels like the GCSEs had just flown by. And before I knew it, I found myself plunged into a busy summer schedule bustling with mountains of tasks to complete on my to-do list.


By the time I finished all those tasks, it ended up coming to today - the end of June and the beginning of July. I don't even know where the days of June went!


Anyway, today I am back to talk about a little side effect of being human.


No, it's not having to deal with annoying hiccups that linger in your stomach the whole day.


The side effect is more the tendency of humans to never accept that they are wrong. And I know this seems weird that my first blog back I decide to slander us all, but I am speaking from personal experience.


DISCLAIMER: I am not really talking about anyone, more really someone like...ok fine..me.


For some reason, ok, to be honest for a very insignificant reason, I was mad at my brother (what can we do; it's the mood swings) and I sort of...ok this sounds harsh but it isn't as harsh as it sounds...


I'll cut to the chase; I locked my bro outside in the garden because I was annoyed at him. When I calmed down, he came inside and confronted me. I didn't accept the fact that I was in the wrong. I mean why would I? Siblings would never accept the fact that they were wrong...


But I also began to notice, that this tendency of humans tends to infiltrate decisions made in our daily life.


For example, when you decide to not put your hand up in class to answer a question you might know because you think you may be wrong...Is this because you're anxiety knows embarrassment would press a button if you get a question wrong (inside out 2 reference) so you don't put your hand up, or is it because you sub-consciously don't want to be wrong in that situation.


At first, I thought it was because of anxiety and embarrassment, but then I thought about why, and I think it has something to do with this human side effect more than we can explain.


Not just in this scenario or my brother-outside-garden-locking scenario but other decisions and actions we do seem to circulate around this side effect, perhaps this is intertwined with ego or the other side of the thin line: self-respect.


However, whatever reason this may be, I think it's important to acknowledge when we are wrong in order to gain experience from something rather than sulk in the corner and wallow in despair about that mistake.


Acceptance and acknowledgement is a great way to set yourself on the path of self-development and attaining self-confidence.


- Ravitreni Signing Off



32 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2 Comments


That is so deep for a random Sunday 😂, but love the inside out reference , I would know I went with U (:

  • Back again too - Karshu (as always)

Like
Replying to

Ofc!! Better random than never~


Welcome back my trusted companion <3

Like
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page