top of page
Search
Writer's pictureravitrenip

Self-doubt is dangerous

Hellloooo Humansss!!


I genuinely thought that this was going to be the post where I write the last part of the 'Looking back' series but I have just been really busy with exam stress and preparation that I did not have enough time so this post will be short and sweet.


My thought process in the beginning of the exam period to now had changed quite a bit with a lot of sharp turns, let me explain.


On the first day, I had a biology test which I was honestly very excited about because biology was one of my weakest subjects but I had spent a lot of weeks preparing for this subject and had gotten pretty much full marks in my practice exam question answers so when the test turned out to be pretty difficult you could imagine the mental breakdown I had!


To be honest, now that I look back, I answered every question and I probably improved from my previous test but it just wouldn't be enough compared to how much I had revised. And the reason the test was so difficult was because of the unexpectedly excessive use of graph and mathematical questions that were worded quite randomly.


I did not get over the blow until the last few hours of the day which was when I pulled myself together to revise for the next few tests.


As the week progressed the tests difficulty seemed to be consistent no matter how hard I tried to revise and it became clearer later on that they were probably tailored to be difficult to test our abilities and determine what the teachers should focus on in our lessons..


So I had been so hard on myself and had lost confidence and motivation due to this and it had greatly affected me.


Looking back (again), I shouldn't have let a test affect my self-confidence and determine that I didn't work hard enough. And even if my test grades don't appear to be my ideal scores that I wanted, I think I have decided that I will accept them, work on them and move on to achieve success, after all, this whole learning curve is a journey and I must make amendments to the journey and decisions to set myself on the right track according to the situation and circumstances.


Ok, so this wasn't as short as I expected, I guess I ended up pouring my heart into this blog which is fine because that was the whole point of this blog. To share my experiences in hope that it would help you and tell you that you are not the only one - we shall struggle together.


Anyway, if you're like me and are too hard on yourself about something that is not in your hands then stop right now! Keep working smart and hard and improve as you go along.


You are doing amazing, and to anyone who is in the middle of exam period or will be having examinations soon: GOOD LUCK!~


- Ravitreni Signing Off




14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page