top of page
Search

Ornithophobia - The fear of pigeons (or birds)

Did the sudden flight of pigeons ever startle you before?


Well, it did startle me. And that's where my whole irrational fear of pigeons began. I don't remember when but for a while I had been asking my brother since I was around 6 or 7 to scare away a pigeon, not because I was scared of it as an animal but I was scared of its sudden flight - I guess kind of like a jump scare.


However, things eventually got worse, I started fearing the animal itself where today I don't get even in a 1 metre radius within the space of a pigeon. It works like this, it doesn't bother me, and I don't bother it. To be honest I would rather feed and help the pigeons even though I am terrified of them, than chasing them away from their food, but what can I do when my irrational fear has got so bad apart from face it.


The thing is, there are quite a few pigeons constantly outside on our school playground so I do face them and see them everyday, and you would think that would help me with my fear, but it only makes it worse while I cling on to one of my five friends' hand, practically digging my nails into their blazers due to my fear.


I also seemed to have studied the physics of my enemy and realised that shooing them away wouldn't be the best as my friends would shoo it away causing it to fly to the other side where I am safely standing, so instead I have five body guards...I know a tough formation when walking through crowds of people and trying to get to your destination in school.


Of course, this fear of mine, did make for some great jokes, great laughs and great memories too. Like the time I was talking about my country and in the middle of my speech a pigeon flew past my head and I darted to end of the playground whilst almost bumping into people screaming "IINNNNDIAAAAAAAAAA".


Yep, I did that.


Quite embarrassing.


So, I have decided I will finally face my fear tomorrow! Time to be brave. I can do it! I will walk straight into it.


COME ON RAVITRENI YOU CAN DO IT.


That's me cheering for myself, well wish me luck.


- Ravitreni Signing Off




12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page