top of page
Search

My dancing career


I have had a few people curious of my dancing throughout the years and how I first started, when and where I learnt how to dance? So I decided I would answer those questions now!


Firstly I started dancing when I was around 3 and a half years old with my mum being my teacher, my first ever stage performance was at 4 years old with over 800 people as an audience!





For a long time my mum focused on my dancing skills and helped me learn how to deliver a few facial expressions successfully. She believes that one of the fundamental points in dancing is to express your dance through your face to add grace to your performance.



Every year I would give at least 4 stage performances.



There were random performances too when people asked me to dance on the spot (not going to lie, I hated it when that happened).





I eventually joined a dance class, however a lot of the moves I learnt were apparently easy for me (NOT BRAGGING I just don't remember having difficulties like my friends did). We did a few dance performances.


Then my mum started making skits for Indian mythological stories, that's when I started acting, along with dancing.


3:22 - 6:46


My mum (yes half of my blog is about my mum making me do this, and do that, because she forced me to keep up with dancing, if she hadn't I probably would have quit) wanted me to learn classical dancing. At that time I didn't go to any classes so I learnt at home from youtube, and my mum corrected my steps for perfection.







Eventually, I went to bharatanatyam classes (an indian classical dance form) to achieve another milestone in my dancing career as ultimately, bharatanatyam can produce great structure, posture, elegance and grace to your dancing and so I did for a 1 and a half to 2 years.


And then the teacher left due to some personal reasons, so I stopped taking classes. However the almost 2 years of bharatanatyam helped me attain a lot more ease and grace for my dance performances!



I started to realise that I enjoyed dancing a lot, in fact I wanted to give dance performances without having my mother to convince me or force me to do them. Come to think of it, if my mum hadn't forced me, I wouldn't have had such a great talent to build on.







Then came lockdown, just before lockdown I got into kpop, so during lockdown my only coping mechanism was dance. I would dance to kpop, I would free style dance in indian songs and when I felt like it I would do some classical dancing. I really had a lot of time to develop my dance skills, stay fit and healthy and learn.


During lockdown I was also able to perform a dance with my mother as we both loved dancing so much and my mum and I wanted to do a video together. So we did.





The most recent dance performance I gave was the one mentioned in last week's blog (I was so out of shape and unfit as I haven't been dancing regularly or practicing since we went back to school). I hope to continue my dance journey and improve more as I go along.


By the way, my last performance marked 10 years of me dancing! Wow, now that I think about it I would have at least performed over 60 times and all I can say is that time has gone by so quickly and I only grew to love dancing.


Okie, that's all for this week.


Bye! :)


- Ravitreni Signing Off




31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page