top of page
Search
Writer's pictureravitrenip

It's just a period!

Helloooo humans!!


Today, I wanted to talk about a topic that is ignored and belittled amongst society (I am not saying it always happens but it does happen) - the menstrual cycle.


Firstly, before I even begin, I think it is important that we normalise talking about periods and it's not ugh, disgusting weird or eww for those who do not experience this and for those who do go through the menstrual cylce it is ok to talk about it otherwise how would other girls learn about it so they could be prepared?


It is normal, it happens to every girl and it is necessary as this whole cycle girls and women go through is a part of life and nature.


The amount of tummy pain or back pain felt by women and girls is varying but cramps can be as harsh as stabbing in the lower abdomen and can increase or decrease depending on diet and exercise (lifestyle) and mood swings are normal.


So for all the people who tell girls/women going through their period to "grow up" or "move on" or say that they "are being ridiculous" then all I have got to say to you is why don't you suffer an entire 5 days to a week with sharp cramps and a side of bleeding because I bet you, survival for you would be difficult!


Another thing I find weird, especially in my culture is that we throw a huge celebration when a girl gets their first period and for the first 5 days she will not meet anyone and will be sitting and relaxing in a corner. Not because she's disgusting or untouchable but because she is weak and if anyone touches her at this time she might contract and illness or sickness as her body is new to this cycle and is adjusting.


After all of this, on the final day or on some day her maturity is celebrated by both men, women, girls and boys and they dance to celebrate it and it is not weird or awkward to dance, eat and have fun in the name of her periods symbolising her maturity but it is weird to mention or talk about it. GROW UP.


Anyway, people especially some men need to understand that it is not easy to ignoring that sharp, aching pain that kills a girl or woman's mood and physical abilities temporarily, they need to understand it is not easy to just ignore.


The worst part is not even constantly bleeding but is having to fear that the blood would stain her clothes or anything they sit on because people and particularly some nasty men might make fun of their struggles.


Another reason why women or girls don't commonly talk about their period in public is due to the same fear of being made fun of in a workplace of lets say 60% men and 40% women.


And with all of these worries in our head, girls and women are still expected to carry on with life as normal and pretend nothing is going on - this expectation is seen from schools to workplaces to everywhere.


I am not saying you must be extra kind to us and buy millions of things for our comfort, but just help us normalise talking about periods in public as it is a part of life.


It is really annoying that a lot try to hide period pads when buying them or carrying them around due to embarrassment - I cannot say that I have never done this before, because I have.


But only because I was influenced by others' behaviour of carrying sanitary pads around and I have decided to stop acting like a criminal who had done something terrible when I don't even have control over it.


Anyway, I want to live in a world where I can express myself freely without having people judge me, even if it is about ranting to my friends about how painful or annoying my period is.


Thank you, and see you next week!


- Ravitreni Signing Off




39 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All

4 Comments


Aarabi Uthayakumar
Aarabi Uthayakumar
Feb 19, 2023

This is so trueee, I’m so glad someone finally, actually said it cause it needed to be 💪 and I was wondering if I was the only one who thought it was weird that we have a whole celebration but still don’t talk abt periods but I’m glad I’m not the only one 🥹

Like

Karshana Pandi
Karshana Pandi
Feb 19, 2023

I really like this article btw🤗


Like
Aarabi Uthayakumar
Aarabi Uthayakumar
Feb 19, 2023
Replying to

💯 me tooo

Like

Karshana Pandi
Karshana Pandi
Feb 19, 2023

Exactly, but why is it that we have a whole celebration for a girl becoming a women, but people get shunned for talking about our menstrual cycles. like even though we do celebrate this transition more than western society. the people themselves have warped the meaning of our traditions in the wrong way, for example girls are not allowed to go to temples when they have their period so that they can rest and recover strength when they are in excruciating pain (trust me I know), however we are told is because we are unclean??? 😑

sorry... this is a bit of a long rant

karshana


Like
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page