top of page
Search

Cultural Week


Helloo Humansssss!!!!


To be honest with you, I was going to skip this week's blog as I have been really busy with moving house and settling in and everything plus I didn't seem to have any ideas.


When I realised that it was cultural dress-up day tomorrow for cultural week and I almost died. I mean half of my clothes are stilled packed away and yet to be cared for and we have been out as a family all weekend!


I am freaking out, but aside from the fact that I am moving there are other disadvantages when it comes to wearing cultural clothes to school, so let's talk about the struggles!


(By the way, these are struggles that I personally face and from the point of view of having an Indian culture so you might not particularly relate but I hope you have fun reading and laughing at my problems!)


1. Long clothes

Wearing long dresses and half saris/saris is a way to freely sweep floors for people and a ticket to embarrassment and annoyance.

Why?

Well, the amount of times I tripped over my dress and almost fell toppling down to the ground are uncountable!


2. Heavy clothes & Jewellery (hot)

It is soooooo warm now that is summer and cultural dress day just happened to occur now, I mean it would be fine if it was non-school uniform day but wearing heavy Indian clothes to school is like going to a war in full armour. It is boiling hot under all of the layers and jewellery!

3. A lot of design so itchy

I don't know why but Indian clothes can simply never be simple - I mean that they are always in intricate detail and design that it starts to get very itchy until you are practically scraping everywhere with your nails.


4. No simple clothes - attracts attention

For some reason all of our clothes need to be extra either with bright colours or a lot of pattern or a completely different style. This, as you expected, attracts a lot of attention from the streets and in school, when you get compliments sometimes it's hard to thank their remarks like: "Omg! Your dress is amazing, I would kill to wear it!".

What am I supposed to say to that? Well, anyway, my thoughts would be "I am dying in this, and you would commit a murder to torture yourself further?".


5. Would get into trouble if stained/ruined

If I got the slightest mark on the dress, I will literally never see daylight again - I think that sentence and point is pretty self-explanatory.


So yes, clearly there are several disadvantages but in the end I am proud of my culture and the huge and unique variety of clothes we could wear and traditions we are a part of as an Indian.


I am glad that we are able to showcase our origins and identity in the form of clothing and food to other cultures!


What is your culture, religion and tradition?


- Ravitreni Signing Off





24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page