top of page
Search

A luck-LESS day

Heyy!


Have you ever had a day where you wished that luck would be more in your favour?


I have, in fact it was probably a day I'd rather forget (on a light hearted note..).


Firstly, I started of my day with the pressure of having a chemistry test the next day which I didn't study for as I was busy for the last couple of days, so I decided I would do it at lunch; which I couldn't do.


But that was soon going to be the least of my problems...


I had rehearsals for a school play that evening and usually I go home by carpooling with my neighbours - now I know what you are thinking..'what's the correlation between me carpooling home and a school play rehearsal?' - well that was the problem, the rehearsal was after school so I needed an alternative to go home and on top of that, I needed to revise when I got home.


Thankfully, I bought my bus pass so I decided to use it and take the bus home, harmless right?


Wrong.


Who knew so many things could go wrong with just a different choice of transport?


So the rehearsals ended..a bit later than expected, it was supposed to finish at 4:30 but ran over to 4:50/5:00.


I wasn't a frequent bus-taker (new word alert) so I didn't know the timings for each bus, I saw the bus timings and I froze. The last bus was here at 4:45...and the next bus wouldn't arrive till 5:30!


Ok..calm down..sooo we missed a bus by 5 minutes and now have to wait for half an hour..couldn't be that bad right?


Wrong again.


I mean it didn't start out terribly, I had friend I made at rehearsals to keep me company for a while but she left within 10 minutes...I returned to the bus stop which looked deserted as I was one of the only people near the school by this time and leaned against a bush whilst listening to some music to entertain me for 20 minutes.


That was when I heard some rustling behind me, I stood up straight and became conscious of my surroundings, I felt something behind me on my blazer and thought it was a leaf so I brushed it off: BIG MISTAKE... Anyway more on that later.


The bus finally arrived, right on time, so I got on and waited for the bus to reach home, in the mean time I watched chemistry related video as reality hit me that there was a test tomorrow and I still hadn't revised for it.


By the time I got off, my dad called me and told me to come to the other side of the roundabout as there was traffic and I was on the opposite side, by the time he got to me and back it would take a while, so I did what he said.


Kind off...well what I mean by that is, I took a long mile walk from one traffic light to a long path to another traffic light and whilst walking my scarf had gotten stuck with thorns. I tried to take it off but the thorns cut my finger and I was so close to the road that I could feel eyeballs literally on me...it was embarrassing so I continued walking with a thorn bush attached to my scarf!


It finally came off and I got into the car just for my dad to give me a huge lecture on how long I'd taken to get to him. I told him why it took so long and he was like "I didn't know there were thorns on the zebra crossing?"..


I was confused..I didn't come across a zebra crossing? Well, do you want to know why I didn't? BECAUSE IT WAS ON THE RIGHT!!!!!!!


I turned left and ignored the right so I took a long walk to several traffic lights and grassy paths while there was a safe and quick zebra crossing on my left! I always thought I was somewhat conscious of my surroundings but I guess not entirely?!!?!?


By the time I got home it was 7pm as there was traffic on our way back....and I revised for half an hour only as I took a shower and got ready for the next day before sitting down to revise.


Just before I headed down for dinner, from the corner of my eye, I saw my blazer...and behind it where I had supposedly brushed of leaves from a bush earlier on was a spot of luck! Get it? Because they say if a bird poop's on you, you are lucky.


Anyway, I don't think that spot of luck helped me and if you ask me, I probably would have needed a lot of luck for that day, but it's behind me now, oh and I did decently on my test.


So the moral of the story is.....revise before, it really pays off!


- Ravitreni Signing Off






19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page